702 // MA-P / Road signs

I guess you must be quite a nerd to think about stuff like that: While being in Norwich Charlotte and I passed by these two road signs – and immediately we were asking ourselves what is going on…

signs

#1 Slippery road
Question: What is exactly happening to the car. My first thought was that this isn’t possible because it looks like the left and right tyre are changing position from the starting point until the final position.
But I tried out to find a solution for this one – and this is how it could work (animated gif):

UK_traffic_sign_557

#2 Think
The second sign is from the Think! Norfolk Partnership whose aim is to reduce the number of people killed and seriously injured on Norfolk roads.
I can see the point which is to make driving people to think about people walking across the road. But to be honest: My first idea coming to my head was: This sign must be sponsored by something like the British Society of Philosophers – encouraging people to think and use their brain while walking.

But again… this must sound pretty nerdy.

~ by Henning M. Lederer on September 8, 2013.

 
