460 // MA-P / Anton Stankowski I

I just remembered that I have been to a great exhibition quite a while ago. In honor of his 100th birthday (1906 –1998) the Staatsgalerie Stuttgart showed in 2006 a grand retrospective about Anton Stankowski and his work – a great exhibition! Anton Stankowski was a German graphic designer, photographer and painter, famous for his Constructive Graphic Art.

At this time, I did not only buy the catalogue of this exhbition, but also a book called “Der Pfeil – Gestalt und Ziel” (The Arrow – Design and Target) published by Stankowski and his working partner Karl Duschek. This book – written in German, English and French – is dedicated to the arrow, its usage, its purpose and its history by depicting lots of examples and graphics, most of them created by Stankowski himself.

I just had a look at this book again and there are some really nice images. I will post a few here on my blog – as they fit very well to the idea of visual communication and visual simplification.

The first one called “Innerer Konflikt” (Inner conflict) fits very well to my former project “This Way” (402 + 393 + 420)… Have a look:

Innerer Konflikt – Inner conflict – Conflit interne /// Design: Anton Stankowski

~ by Henning M. Lederer on June 21, 2012.