091 // MDA3 / Context / Museum Ethics

This research-document refers to the question about the context in which I want to place my work.

The projects is still planned as an installation, an interactive apparatus for people to play with and to explore the content of this machinery. So, by this, the first idea of placing this work is as an installation in an art- or gallery-based context. And while thinking about institutions like a museum or a gallery as a place for publishing my work, I came across a book called “Museum Ethics” by Gary Edson (Editor).

pattern

“Museum Ethics considers the theoretical and practical elements of ethical behaviour in relation to critical contemporary issues in museums” (from the Back Cover). As you can see, this book is more about all the persons active in a museum and their ethical obligation to the museum profession and the public. But the discussion in this book also contains some interesting questions and thoughts about ethical codes in the field of art, design and exhibition – which is for me in general a very interesting topic. And in addition to that there is a focused discussion encompassing the role of education within a museum which is in the case of the Industrial Palace helpful as well.

This document is a kind of summarised collection with quotes, figures and some conclusions by myself that hopefully helps me to become clear about how and where I can place my work.

// Progress_005.pdf / 796kb

~ by Henning M. Lederer on May 11, 2009.